BLOG BLITZ: The Accident

Thank you for visiting my page on the first day of the Blog Blitz for this brilliant book. Thanks to Noelle at Bookouture for letting me take part. Well let’s get started!

 


About the book

 

One mistake could change your life forever.
Tara has it all. Married and about to move into her dream home, she can’t explain why she is tempted by one last fling with her ex before she settles down.

David would do anything for Tara. So when he finds her with another man, his world starts to crumble around him.

Ryan isn’t prepared for the punch David throws at him. Stumbling, he slips over the balcony and falls three stories to the patio below.

In one split second, a man will be killed. In one split second, David and Tara’s life will change forever.

How far would you go to save everything you have?

A twist-filled thriller for fans of The Couple Next Door, T.M. Logan, and Rachel Abbott.

 

My Review

 

The premise of this book had me interested straight away. In my own life, I’ve seen how easy it is for an accident to have dramatic consequences but this author was taking it to another level. When an accident results in murder, what would you do? I couldn’t wait to find out what the characters in this book would do.

 

What I liked most about this book is that it got stuck in straight. From the first few pages, the action begins and the tension never dissipates. We learn about these characters through their actions that have led up to and after this horrific accident. They aren’t the most likable characters but it was fascinating seeing this ordinary couple thrust into a world that every day people don’t experience all because of one ill-fated decision.

 

This book seemed to have a social concern with the rich and poor. There was a lot of commentary about the significance of where you grew up. It was interesting to see how people view the rich and can put their insecurities on them – blame them for everything. I did think this was a slow burner but it had a very vivid and gratifying ending. I look forward to more from this author and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to get into the head of characters and follow their psychological journey through a traumatic time.

 

About the Author

 

S. D. Monaghan grew up in Dublin before traveling extensively in Asia, Europe, and America. After teaching English in Thailand for two years, he moved back to Ireland and gained an honours degree in psychology. While living in Canada for four years, he studied screenwriting in Toronto. S. D. Monaghan completed the Masters in Creative Writing at Trinity College, Dublin with the editorial guidance of the Pulitzer Prize winner Richard Ford and Orange Prize nominee, Deirdre Madden. On the strength of his work there, he was chosen to represent both the university and the Oscar Wilde Writers’Centre to read excerpts at the Dublin Publishers Festival and on Dublin Culture Night.  He lives in Dublin with his wife, where he is currently working on his new novel. He is represented by Zoe Ross at United Agents.

 

Please do check out the other reviews being posted today and over the next few days.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *